The European Actors Award

With the European Actors Award THE EUROPA, Braunschweig International Film Festival celebrates actresses and actors for their outstanding artistic performance and contribution to the European film culture.

DIE EUROPA is being awarded since 2007. Previous award winners have been Hanna Schygulla, Bruno Ganz, John Hurt, Stellan Skarsgard, Isabelle Huppert, Olivier Gourmet, Barbara Sukowa and lately, in 2014, Mads Mikkelsen.

In addition to the prize money of 15.000 Euros donated by main sponsor Volkswagen Financial Services AG, a bronze statue called THE EUROPA, will be awarded.

The statue DIE EUROPA was designed by the Brunswieck artist Sabine Hoppe.

The Honorees since 2007